Author Topic: Drive Shaft & Yoke Details - M Code 4 speed  (Read 2531 times)

Offline marvmach

Drive Shaft & Yoke Details - M Code 4 speed
« on: August 10, 2013, 07:28:29 AM »
I'm a newbie, so forgive me if this info is readily available somewhere.
I am getting my 70 Mach 1  back together (351C-4V, with 4 speed, 28-spline axle). I am currently working on the drive shaft. I am 90% sure that the one I have is not correct. I need confirmation on the length (from u-joint center to u-joint center as 50 7/32. I also need the info on the correct paint stripe colors and locations, which seems to be closely guarded info. Any help you guys can provide is appreciated. Thanks
« Last Edit: March 17, 2023, 05:55:22 PM by J_Speegle »
1970 Mach 1 351C-4V, MT

Offline J_Speegle

• Administrator
Re: Drive Shaft & Yoke Details - M Code 4 speed
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2013, 10:41:51 PM »
I'm a newbie, so forgive me if this info is readily available somewhere.
I am getting my 70 Mach 1  back together (351C-4V, with 4 speed, 28-spline axle). I am currently working on the drive shaft. I need confirmation on the length (from u-joint center to u-joint center as 50 7/32.

I also need the info on the correct paint stripe colors and locations, which seems to be closely guarded info.

Not a closely guarded detail you just needed to find someone with access to a build sheet or two of a similar car. Also many owners slap on paint stripes and daubs before they have addressed the finish and condition of the part - quickly rushing to put paint marks on items for some reason. MOST classes do not require that you have paint marks and wrong ones (deducted for some this weekend) will lose you points as will incorrect details of the base part. With that said I hope you didn't paint your driveline or used similar finishes ;)

Colors and order for the identification stripes are 1 Green - 1 White -1 Yellow stripes