Author Topic: Brake linings  (Read 2288 times)

Offline Toploader

Brake linings
« on: March 24, 2012, 08:05:17 PM »
Hello everybody,

I am a Danish hobbyist and I have a '65 convertible that I partly use for daily driving in the summertime. I have just joined this site and I like what I see. I appreciate the level of the discussions. I am planning a future restoration at some point, but right now I am about to do a brake job. One of my considerations is to have the brake shoes relined, however I fall short of retrieving information about the friction coefficients of the linings used by the factory. Does anyone know? The shop manual only state some color codes that I have not been able to decode into friction numbers.

Jeppe
76A-Y-D2-13H-72-6-6
1965 Californian Built Silver Blue Convertible

Offline CharlesTurner

• Charles Turner
  • Administrator
Re: Brake linings
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2012, 10:01:33 PM »
Welcome to the forum.  Your question is interesting, but I have not seen documentation that specifies friction coefficient for brake shoes.  Are you looking for a stock replacement or something better?
Charles Turner - MCA/SAAC Judge
Concours Mustang Forum Admin

Offline Toploader

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2012, 06:02:17 PM »
Replicating factory quality is always my first choice. I wonder if Ford could have used linings with different friction coefficients on the front wheels and the rear wheels respectively, though it only appears to be different types from the primary shoes to the secondary shoes according to the shop manual. From the forum on the Danish Mustang Club's web site I have learned that some members have experienced issues with the rear wheels over-braking after having the shoes or linings replaced.
76A-Y-D2-13H-72-6-6

Offline Toploader

« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2012, 06:53:50 PM »
but I have not seen documentation that specifies friction coefficient for brake shoes