Author Topic: What is the correct paint for Mach 1 rocker mouldings?  (Read 4005 times)

Offline DaveF

Re: What is the correct paint for Mach 1 rocker mouldings?
« Reply #15 on: July 05, 2024, 11:51:28 PM »
I think that NPD got a bad batch of paint. The first can that I bought (AP GPA) was the wrong color. It was almost black and the metallic was wrong. Since I didn?t know what else to do, I ordered another can and am very happy with the results! Whew!
1970 Mustang Mach One
428 SCJ w/Drag Pak 3.91
Metuchen plant
Built 9/5/1969

Offline J_Speegle

• Administrator
« Reply #16 on: July 06, 2024, 11:01:50 PM »
Thanks. If you have the can still of the wrong stuff why don't you post the numbers from the bottom of the can. This might help others in the near future
Jeff Speegle

Anything worth doing is worth doing concours ;)

Offline Coutu

« Reply #17 on: July 29, 2024, 01:36:56 PM »
Hey guys,

I just wanted to update this thread on my findings. I'm not a professional painter and I'm not saying this is the end all be all on the rocker molding paint, but I'm pretty particular and I'm happy with the outcome.

The PPG 33053 is a good starting point, and after messing around with tinting with black (using black tint, NOT some black basecoat paint to tint with) I am very happy with my results.

I am using:

PPG 33053 in the Shopline 2-stage urethane ( JB basecoat + JC60 clearcoat) with a tint ratio of 3 parts basecoat to 1 part black tint. Please note this ratio is obtained BEFORE the basecoat is reduced/hardened. This JB basecoat is mixed at a 1:1 base/reducer ratio. So, it's a 6:1 RTS paint to 1 part black tint effectively. This may seem like a lot of tint, and I'm no paint expert, but it did take a lot of tint to see a noticeable change in color. Maybe that's why it's called "tint"? All I know is I have enough test strips to start a book on the variants of 33053 at this point!