Author Topic: Engine Oil Dipstick Tube - 68 302  (Read 1272 times)

Offline 66427

Engine Oil Dipstick Tube - 68 302
« on: June 29, 2016, 05:22:36 PM »
What sheen of black is the Engine Oil Dipstick Tube on a 68 302?
Dave
« Last Edit: June 29, 2016, 05:42:07 PM by J_Speegle »

Offline J_Speegle

• Administrator
Re: Engine Oil Dipstick Tube - 68 302
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2016, 05:41:54 PM »
It was attached to the engine prior to it being painted as a unit Corporate Blue - not black

If you do a search there are numerous pictures of original engines and this detail as well as others related to painting the engine ;)
Jeff Speegle

Anything worth doing is worth doing concours ;)

Offline 66427

« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2016, 09:25:38 PM »
Jeff
Quite honestly I had searched within the 68s and didn't find what I was looking for.
I've came to two conclusions,I'm not very good with the searches and secondly it would be nice
If all the experienced guys got together and produced a book with all colors and sheens
Like  Mcneish did for the Z28 guys.
While I'm at it an assembly manual as good as the Corvette guys have.You could buy
A car in boxes and put it together with there assembly manuals.I know..........
There copies of the factory.An Illustrator and exploited views that were legible would be great
For all guys entering the Mustang world.
Researching on the internet every time you want to bolt something on is a pain in the ass.
Looks like I'm pulling out the airbrush:(
Might be profitable for you,Pete,Bob and Tim?
Thanks
Dave

Offline J_Speegle

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2016, 10:42:26 PM »
Jeff
Quite honestly I had searched within the 68s and didn't find what I was looking for.

Used the words "68 unrestored" and found the following

Pictures E&, E8 & E10

http://www.concoursmustang.com/forum/index.php?topic=13807.msg85559#msg85559

This one only shows the handle

http://www.concoursmustang.com/forum/index.php?topic=7574.msg43180#msg43180